Static IP Address Fedora 16

This is another quick post on Fedora 16. Setting up static IP address is little different from Debian based distros and also there is a slight change from the previous Fedora distros.

first check the network devices installed in the machine

$ ifconfig

for me, there is a device installed p1p1 (except lo). Now, create a network script file.

$ vi /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-p1p1

and fill it up with your hardware and connection detail.

DEVICE=p1p1
BOOTPROTO=static
IPADDR=10.10.10.100
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=10.10.10.2
HWADDR=94:0C:6D:86:95:F7
DNS1=8.8.4.4
DNS2=203.112.72.5
ONBOOT=yes
NM_CONTROLLED=no

I think most of the attributes are understandable. however, NM_CONTROLLED means Network Manager Controlled.

now, restart the network

$ sudo /etc/init.d/network restart

$ ping yahoo.com

….tada!!!

4 thoughts on “Static IP Address Fedora 16

  1. This thing never worked for me 😦
    Can you tell me is it possible to do it on wireless interface (wlan0 in my case)? I restarted the network after I did as you instructed but soon after restart, network manager provided me with dhcp ip. When I killed dhclient (killall dhclient) I have lost network completely. What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks!

    1. Hey Greg.
      There is no hidden trick on this I am aware of. And also I don’t think you need to kill dhclient process. Please check if there is something else you are missing out.

  2. I have read a few good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much effort you put to make such a wonderful informative site.

Leave a Reply

